

University of Notre Dame

April 8, 2021

Members of the Student Senate,

It is with great pleasure that I present to you my nominee, Allison Sharp, for the position of Judicial Council Vice-President of Peer Advocacy for the 2021-2022 term.

According to Article XII, Section 3(b)(4)(A) of the Constitution of the Undergraduate Student Body, "The Judicial Council Vice-President of Peer Advocacy shall coordinate the duties and training of any selected undergraduate student advocates." This broad definition gives significant latitude to the Vice-President of Peer Advocacy to direct the Peer Advocacy program in a manner they see fit. Naturally, then, the position stresses leadership capabilities, creativity, and the willingness of the office-holder to take initiative.

Allison Sharp is perfectly equipped to not only fulfill the duties of the Vice-President of Peer Advocacy, but to go above and beyond to build Notre Dame's Peer Advocacy program into a more well-known and helpful organization for the students it serves. Allison has experience taking initiative to serve students, having started and helped to implement George Washington University's Peer Advocacy program from scratch before transferring to Notre Dame. She has since increased her knowledge of our Office of Community Standards while serving on the Election Committee. Particularly in a time when students are often uncertain of the standards expected of them by the University due to new regulations imposed through the Campus Compact, Allison's experience under high pressure and in uncharted waters will serve her well. Allison has demonstrated a strong understanding of how to improve both Peer Advocacy's presence on campus and its institutional agency, leading me to believe that she will be a strong advocate for the rights of students both in outreach efforts and in negotiations with University administration.

I fully endorse Allison Sharp for the position of Judicial Council Vice-President of Peer Advocacy.

Respectfully submitted,

David Haungs

Judicial Council President